Posted by: drrozkaplan | January 13, 2010

Tempus Fugit

Time seems to be moving much too fast.  I am sure this has something to do with getting older, because I am sure that time is speeding up with each year of my life.  It seemed like hours, days, certainly weeks were a lot longer when I was young than they are now.  Someone once told me that this is not just a psychological perspective but some kind of actual neurologic phenomenon.  I can’t quite figure that one out, but whatever it is, it unnerves me.

I’m having a terrible time getting used to writing 2010, or just 1/-/10.  How can it be 2010?  That sounds so space age!  But what’s the big deal about space?  We send up spaceships all the time.  We have technology for everything.  We can make new organs grow from cells.  We can transplant faces!  Today somebody brought up data from an article that was published in 1990.  And my partner said, “there must be newer data, that’s 20 years old.”  And of course I knew that intellectually, but it somehow doesn’t seem like an experiment done in 1990 is outdated information, and it’s hard to fathom that it’s really 20 years old.

Sometimes things get put off- like my husband and I keep saying we need to plan our summer vacation, and we need to make sure we get to see his parents in Florida before the winter ends, but we haven’t looked at plane tickets for florida or for summer vacation plans.  And we better do it soon.  Because the weeks are sliding by.  The winter will end and we won’t go to Florida and the summer will come and we will have no vacation planned- because that’s what happens these days with time.

It’s not that we don’t have any time.  We probably have more than we used to a couple years ago.  Only one child lives at home with us most of the time now.  At 16 1/2, she is pretty independent and has a busy social life, so we don’t have to entertain her or  be there to meet basic needs anymore.  I have learned to say ‘no’ to volunteering for all kinds of things that don’t make good use of my time and talents.  Larry has less time on-call these days.  So we do have time.  We just manage to fill it with all kinds of projects and activities, and often forget to plan ahead.  And the time just flies away from us.

Sometimes it’s scary how fast it goes, how fast it has gone.  All those years of diapers and tantrums and back-to-school nights that, at the time, seemed so endless, have, in fact, ended.  Now I hate wasted time and time spent unhappy for no good reason (it happens sometimes, I can just get cranky) more than anything.  Because once that time is gone, there is no way to get it back.

Responses

  1. Roz,

    You exactly articulated the typical thoughts of people of a certain age with similar challenges.

    You go girl!

    Darilyn


Categories

