Posted by: drrozkaplan | July 26, 2010

The Rest of the Summer

We’re sliding in to the end of July.  I don’t know how this happened.  It seems like the older I get, the faster time goes.  This summer has flashed by me, not because I’m having such a great time, but I suppose because lots of things have happened.  Nothing big, nothing earth-shattering, not even anything particularly interesting.  Just the stuff of life.  And every time I think I’m going to do something fun, something that feels like summer, my plans are interrupted by more life stuff.

There was a weekend we planned a long bike trip, but instead spent it finding a new car for our kids when the old Volvo wagon finally met its demise.  There were several weekends, including the 4th of July weekend, when my husband spent a good part of the day making rounds in the hospital.  I spent two of those weekends on college visits with my daughter. There was a Sunday that was to be spent at a pool party at a friend’s house, but a rip-roaring argument with our son made me too unhappy to enjoy a day with company.  There was the singer-songwriter weekend that I left after a couple of hours because I was sick, and the week spent recovering from my bronchitis after that.  There was the weekend spent packing up our daughter and moving her into her dorm at U. Arts. Even just this morning, my hike with a friend was postponed because my car battery died and I had to call AAA.  And so it has gone.  Mostly, I’ve gone to work all summer, just like the rest of the year, and spent time rehabbing my injured shoulder.

It hasn’t been entirely miserable- there have been a couple bike rides, my usual Pilates lessons, some evenings out with friends, and a movie here and there. But I guess it hasn’t helped that the sixth heat wave of the summer here in the Philadelphia area has just ended, and even walking the dogs on most evenings has felt like slogging through a steam bath.

But this evening, after a heavy rainstorm, it is suddenly cool and pleasant.  And my mood right now is lighter than it has been in a while.  My shoulder feels better, and I’m being discharged from Physical Therapy this week.  My son is in a good place and doesn’t seem to need to argue with us so much any more.  My daughter is having a great summer, and came home to visit this weekend for a couple hours, just at the moment I was missing her the most.  My husband and I are enjoying some nice, quiet time together.  And best of all, we are looking forward to a vacation in a couple weeks, one that is much needed.  Nothing is going to get in the way of that week away if I have anything to say about it.  I think we’ve had enough interruptions to our summer this year.

Before we know it, we’ll be shipping our son back to college and our daughter will be starting that last year of high school.  I have always liked the fall; I look forward to the structure, to that sense of knowing what to expect.  This year the fall will be a big deal for me.  My book will come out, and I will turn 50.  Half a century will have gone by.  And I don’t know how that happened either.  That’s a much bigger deal than not knowing what happened to my summer.  But I’m not ready for the fall quite yet, no matter how much I like the season, or how exciting this fall is going to be.  First I need to have some summer satisfaction.  I’m ready, so bring on the rest of summer.

Categories

